Reading

Paper backs, Kindles, iPads–whatever the format, books are everywhere in class and in the halls.  The librarian has already had a steady flow of traffic at lunch and in the morning, and we’ve only been in school a few weeks.  Independent reading is an important part of our class work, and it’s good to see students with books in their hands.

We can all continue to foster this enthusiasm for reading and support the growth of our class library by ordering books from Scholastic.  You can browse each month’s book flyer and order online here (all seventh graders order under Mrs. Kriese’s name) or from the link on my website (it’s under the “resources” tab).  Our class ordering code is GNM2B.

For this grading period, one of the books you have to read for your reading log must be a biography or an autobiography.

What person have you chosen to learn more about in your reading this nine weeks?  What makes you interested in the life of that person?

Visitors, have you read an interesting biography or autobiography recently?  Leave us a comment here.

106 thoughts on “Reading

  1. I really want to learn more about Steve Jobs because he is responsible for much of the technology that we have today. I’m interested in his life because he had the innovation to do what no one had tried to do before and succeed at it.

  2. I am reading about Steve Jobs because he overcame very many obstacles like how he started out poor and built himself an a new company up from the ground.

  3. I want to learn more about Gabby Douglas. The reason I want to learn more about her is because I love gymnastics and her story about how she trained and worked toward her dreams sounds cool.

  4. I have chosen to read about St. Sharbel! I chose to read about him because I love going to church and we talked about him in bible study and that got me more interested!

  5. As an enthusiastic sports fan I have decided to read about my favorite basketball player in the NBA, Kobe Bryant. I am interested in the life of this superstar because of his great attitude and his amazing dedication to becoming, not just a better basketball player, but also a better person.

  6. I decided to read about Laurie Rubin. She is a blind, bisexual, opera singer. Her story is very interesting. I hadn’t actually heard about her before I got the book, but actually saw her autobiography, “Do You Dream In Color?” while I was buying the reading list books and decided to give it a try. I read the first chapter and was hooked until the end.

  7. I have chosen to read about Steven Spielberg. He had a very interesting childhood. He was not very focused on school but rather making films. It’s also interesting that some of his movies really connected him with his own religion.

  8. I have chosen to read about Albert Einstein in this nine weeks. I am interested in his life because I am good at math and would like to learn more about it. He was a genius and created the famous formula “E=MC squared”.

  9. I am currently reading a biography about David Crockett. Its fun to learn about a Texas hero. I think it is important to learn about him.

  10. I have recently chosen to read about Steve Jobs because he overcame a lot of things such as people putting him down be he never stopped. I also found it very interesting how he started from scratch and became rich and famous.

  11. I have chosen to read about Ruby Bridges for this nine weeks. I want to learn more about her because when she was young she was judged harshly just for her skin color, and I want to know just how hard she had it and what she had to deal with.

  12. This 9 weeks, I’ve chosen to read about Victor Cruz. The reason I chose to read about him is because I’m very interested in how he became famous and how he got such a big ego.

  13. I am going to read about the foundr of Lego, Ole Kirk Christiansen. He overcame many hardships such as his factory burning down twice, the toy market falling, and the fact that many people couldn’t afford toys.

  14. I have chosen to read about Michael Jordan because the story of his entire life is extremely interesting! I didn’t always like him but now I think he is a good person.

  15. I chose to read about Albert Einstein because is invented many things and helped the modern world greatly. Although, I think reading about him is confusing because of all the vocabulary. Plus, there are 600 pages in that book, and it feels like reading Spanish after reading 50 pages.

  16. I chose to read about Anne Frank. It is facinating how she kept a journal while the Germans were threatening Jews and she went into hiding and so on.

  17. For this assignment, I would love to find out more about Dolley Madison ( James Madison’s wife). She was the First Lady that really had a big part when her husband was in office. I only know a little about her but hopefully when I am finished reading I will know a lot about the 4th president’s wife.

  18. Authors have always been interesting to me, she is probably the best author ever, and as a personal fan of Harry Potter, there is no better choice than JK Rowling. Out of all authors JK Rowling is the biggest, and most wide spread. Having intrigued people of all ages through her Harry Potter book series. What makes her writing so intriguing, and what shaped her to be who she is today?

  19. Collin Powell was has always been my hero so I am reading the life of Collin Powell and how he changed the us military forever

  20. I chose to read about Steve Jobs. He was he the founder of one of the most successful companies in the world, and I’m very interested to find out what twists and turns it took him to get there.

    • I chose to read about Steve Jobs. He was the founder of one of the most successful companies in the world, and I’m very interested to find out about the twists and turns it took him to get there.

  21. I have chosen to read about Taylor Swift. I am fascinated on how she was just a small girl with a big dream to a pop star that everyone loves. I also want to know how hard it was for her to build up to be where she is today.

  22. This nine weeks I’m reading more about Gabby Douglas and Shawn Johnson. They are both professional gymnasts and they were on the same teams and now very good friends.

  23. I chose to read about Marie Curie and I’m so glad I did. She dedicated her life to following her dreams and along the way she won two Nobel Prizes, helped scientists discover a cure for cancer, and died due to her exposure to radium. I think we can all learn a lot from Marie Curie.

  24. I have chosen to read about Adele Laurie Blue Adkins and I have chosen her because I think she is a very good singer. So far I have learned that her mom, Penny was 18 when she gave birth to Adele and when Adele was 3 years old when her dad, Mark left Adele and Penny. I will not tell you more about the book because you might want to read it.

  25. I was reading a book on Thomas Edward Lawrence, better known as Lawrence of Arabia. I am interested in Lawrence’s life because he succeeded in beating the Turkish armies against all odds. He also committed great acts of bravery, like when he went back into the desert to save one of his soldiers.

  26. I have chosen to read about Walt Disney because created the world of Disney, and became one of the most successful entrepreneurs ever. He teaches us to never give up on our dreams and that our imagination is infinite.

  27. Being an iphone and ipad user, I have chosen to read the biography about Steve Jobs. I want to learn more about his life and his experiences about creating the most poplular and most used electronic devices we have today.

  28. With Mrs. Schoch`s permission I would love to read the biography of Secratariat`s life as a racehorse. I ride and love horses a ton and thought it would be very cool to get the inside story of what made Secratariat the fastest, and greatest racehorse that ever lived.

  29. I’ve always been extremely interested in World War 2, so I chose to read a book on Joseph Stalin. I have always wanted to learn more about his ways of leading Russia and were this man stood WW2.

  30. At the moment I am not reading any biographies but I am debating between a few. I don’t know wether I want to read a funny or sad and thoughtful story. I have always loved crying at books, I don’t know why. Buy it’s also nice to laugh at them. If you could recommend a good biography I would be grateful.

  31. I think I am going to choose George Morris. He is a famous equestrain who used to be the Olympic trainer. I am also an equestrain and I think his life would be a very interesting to learn more about!

  32. I want to read about Amelia Airheart because I think it was inspiring how determined she was. It’s also very intriguing how she disappeared out of thin air and even today no one has found her plane. I also like the fact that she was the first woman pilot.

  33. My personal favorite idle is J.K. Rowling. I think by far she is my favorite author, and one of the greatest in or time. The works she puts out keep you latched onto the sense that you’re traveling with her character, threw all the plot twists and awkward moments. Even though she grew up dirt poor, Rowling has never ceased to amaze. (When she was financialy disabled, she wrote her stories on napkins!)

  34. This semester I have chosen to read about Muhammad Ali. I would like to learn more about the man with the wings of a butterfly because his journey is inspiring. I would like to know more about how a regular 12 year old who had never boxed before became he man his to over a stolen bicycle. I already know some of his fascinating story but I can’t wait to know more about his success.

  35. I’m going to read about Leonardo Da Vinci. He is one of the most famous artist and inventor, but that’s not all he did. It’s hard to summarize his life in a paragraph, so read his autobiography to find out more.

  36. I’m going to read about the life of Helen Keller. I want to know how she learnt to read and write, and also I want to know how she learnt to communicate with people when she was blind, deaf, and mute.

  37. Collin Powell was the greatest general that ever lived. I have always loved learning about tactics and and generals. Now I will learn about the greatest in history. I want to learn how he coped with it all and some of the adventures he experienced.

  38. I am reading about Adolf Hitler, though he is a very bad man, I like reading about his Reign of Terror because it shows what people can do, even if they are born from dirt.

  39. Since I love sports, I have dicided to read a book about Tim Tebow. Tim’s athletic ability and amazing carecter helped me to dicide that I want to be like him.

  40. I have chosen to read about Steve Jobs this semester. He is a wonderful man, because society didn’t enjoy his antics, he was on the right track. He is a very inspiring man to me.

  41. I have chosen to read a biography about the Manning family. I have found it so intriguing that 3 people in one family all became very successful quarterbacks in the NFL. I have wondered if it is in the genes, or the work ethic the family has. Maybe it’s the determination that has just been programmed into their minds that they can do whatever they want if they put their minds to it.

  42. I have always loved going to the movie theater, so I decided to read about Audrey Hepburn, one of the greatest actresses of all time. She has influenced so many of today’s actresses and is a role model to many women and girls who dream to become movie stars. She was one of the most famous of her time and movies are still enjoyed today.

  43. I chose to read the book Killing Lincoln. It isn’t just a book about Lincoln, but also about the murderer, John Wilkes Booth. The cool part is, it talks about one week before the killings at the theatre hour by hour pretty much. I have always wanted to learn more about the killings, and there is a lot more than just Abrahams death. I can’t wait till I finish the book

  44. I’ve chose to read about Steve jobs because he is an innovator who has created the device I’m using. He also overcame many obstacles to become the person he was.

  45. I have chosen Don’t Kill the Birthday Girl. Don’t Kill the Birthday Girl is an autobiography about the life of Sandra Beasley. Sandra Beasley is the ordinary girl however, she has dozens of allergies that make life a little complicated. Honestly, chose this book because it had a cupcake on the front, but I am excited to read about a girl that survives without pudding.

  46. I’m going to read about Bill gates. I chose him to read because he originally made the software for all PC’s and now I want to know how and why he made it.

  47. I am reading a very interesting book about Redskin’s quarterback RGlll. It tells about how he comes back to the NFl after suffering a painful ACL tear.

  48. I chose to read about Anne Frank. The book I chose was Diary Of a Young Girl. The reason I chose to read this book is because my mom has read it. She told me that it was a good book and she thought I should read it. I already finished the book and I really in joyed the book. Sometimes the book got boring but not for long.

  49. I have chosen to learn more about Shawn Johnson this nine weeks because she is such a powerful person! She has gone through so much training and had to sacrifice some if the best things in life like getting to go to school overlay with her friends, etc. I am interested in learning about her life because she is just such an interesting person! She really inspires me because I’ve always wanted to be an Olympic gymnast but I started to do cheer instead so I kind of have up on that dream. But she is still a inspiration to me!

  50. I have chosen to read about Wiliam and Kate Middleton. They are very interesting. They have a baby boy and at the same time they are running the U.K. I want to learn about how things work in the U.K. That is why I wanted to read this book.

  51. I really wanted to learn the life of a an interesting football player. After looking through biography I found Tim Tebow through my eyes. I haven’t started because I need to finish my current book. But I’m excited to learn about him and his life.

  52. I have chosen to read about William and Kate Middleton. I am interested in them because they have a baby boy and they are running the U.K. I wonder how they met.

  53. I just finished the book I was reading A Series of Unfortunate Events. Next I’m gonna read my biography I am thinking to read about Victor Cruz who is a football player for the New York Giants he’s a wide receiver, or either I’m gonna read about Steve Jobs who made one of the most successful business in the world. I’m still trying to decide which one I’m gonna read.

    Gabriel Lozano

  54. I am reading about Theodore Roosevelt, his life is very interesting. You wouldn’t think that his life would start this way, his life gets better as it goes on. In my opinion, he was a good President. There is a sad start but a great end to the book!

  55. I am reading about Steve Jobs. I desisted to read about him because he made apple. He didn’t care what other people say he just went for it. So many people said he was crazy but he didn’t care. People in Apple kicked him out of apple.

  56. I am reading the book Abele the Biography. I have learned that her mom was and is not married but Abele “dad” proposed to her. Abele has a unique life.

  57. I’m reading a book about Kevin Mitnick, the most wanted computer hacker in this country. I’m reading this book because I’m interested in computers, and coding!

  58. I have read about Bethany Hamilton, a famous surfer who lost her arm in a shark attack. I admire her perserverence to keep surfing even after she lost her arm. It inspires me to continue gymnastics after I had broken my arm. She is not only an amazing surfer but also an amazing person.

  59. For my autobiography/biography, I am going to read Secretariat.
    I have been watching the movie over and over.
    A few years ago, I tried to read the book, but didn’t understand the longer words. I think that it would be good to give the book another try.

  60. I have bought a book already, but I’m not sure if it is a biography. I am going back tomorrow to find a true biography on maybe gabby Douglas. I am interested in her because she has an amazing talent. It really stuns me when I see people that flexible and able to do flips and jumps like she does. I can’t wait to read about her.

  61. I’m have decided to read about Steve jobs I saw the movie and apple is my favorite company. He created something amazing from a garage, He was a my way or the highway type of guy and I think that’s really cool how he never gave up.

  62. I have chosen to read to read about Bo Jackson. He was a great football player and base ball player. He also had a ruff childhood that he had to make some choices that could change his life.

  63. I chose to read about Kwan Saihung. He is a child born into a rich family in the 1930’s of China. He eventually becomes a taoist (pronounced ‘dowist’)and travels around China. I chose to read about him because the history of other countries interests me and cultures.

  64. I have chosen to read about Bill Gates because he created Microsoft and I don’t know much about him. I would also like to know how he became so successful.

  65. I am reading about Winston Churchill who the prime minister of Brittan during world war 2. Churchill is well known for his war speeches. I enjoyed reading about him because even when Brittan was being bombed, He was calm, unlike most.

  66. My biography is going to be “O’Keefe and Texas” by Sharon R. Udall. I have read about her before, and have found she is is a very interesting artist.

  67. I read my biography about Vince Carter, a famous basketball player for the Toronto Raptors. I wanted to read about Vince Carter because the Toronto Raptors haven’t been doing that we’ll in basketball for quite a while. I wanted to see if Vnce Carter made a big impact to the Raptors and to see if the Raptors won a lot of games with Vince Carter on their team.

  68. I have chosen to read about Lewis and Clark because I admire learning about nature and I also want to explore the world.

  69. I am reading a book about Benjamin Franklin by Edmund S. Morgan.
    I was wondering how Benjamin Franklin would think to put a key on a kite and flew it in a storm to invented electricity.

  70. I want to learn more about shigesato itoi (weird name right?) he created the earthbound franchise and its my favorite game series ever! But there is a lot of background in his life that went into the games that I want to know about!

  71. Someone at Barnes and Noble helped me find this autobiography. I am reading about Walter Dean Meyers. I am inspired about how he lives his life. He grew up poor in bad neighborhood, but instead of making tons of bad choices he read lots of different kinds of books.

  72. I am reading the biography of Messi. I picked Messi because I wanted to do something about soccer. I picked Messi over other soccer players is because I have not watched him play much and wanted to know more about him.

  73. I would love to learn more about Anne Frank because of the movie I watched a while back based on her diary. She seemed like such an interesting person and it would be amazing to expand my knowledge on what a already know about her.

  74. I am reading about Anthony Robles because he was born with only one leg, but he still won a national championship in wrestling.

  75. I would have enjoyed learning about John F. Kennedy. Accidentally, I picked up a book about his brother, ROBERT F. Kennedy! I reread the title and figured out my mistake, I never heard much about Robert F. Kennedy and I slowly started getting interested in what he actually did! I wondered how he managed it all, being almost always behind the scenes of his brothers campaign for presidency , he was always his brothers shadow never really apart of the action.

  76. I have chosen to read about Steven Spielberg an acclaimed movie director. He interested me because I love many of his movies Jaws,ET,Jurassic Park,Close In counters,Indiana Jones,Goonies,Schindler’s List. After reading much of his biography I learned that he traumatized his three sisters scaring them at night which made me laugh. I am excited to read about the rest of his exciting life.

  77. I have chosen to read a book about many people. The book is called Guinea Pig Scientist and it’s about different scientist who have experimented on them self.
    My favorite story is about a women working with other scientist about caves and the group sent her into a cave for several months in a small plastic room with plenty of entertainment, food and a bed where they watch her with cameras to see how life is in a cave.

  78. I have chosen to read about Roald Dahl. He was the author of many best selling childrens books like Charlie and the Choclate Factory, James and the Giant Peach, or the Big Friendly Giant (BFG). Anyway I chose to read about Roald Dahl because I think his books are wonderful and very funny.

  79. I chose to read about Nirvana. Nirvana is a late 80’s early 90’s grunge band who completed helped shape modern alternative music today. I really want to lean about all of their lives and the struggles they faced.

  80. I have chosen to read about Gabi Douglas. When I was at the book store I was stumped. I couldn’t find any biography I would enjoy. But once I found Gabi Douglas I was so excited! Her life is intersting, she has gone through. So much traning and final achieved her dream.

  81. I have chosen to read about Babe Ruth, because I like to play baseball with my dad before he became really busy with work. I thought it would be cool to learn about someone who brought baseball to life, and my dad would always say “I am going to strike you out I’m Babe Ruth!”

  82. I have always loved apple. Also I have been very fascinated by thier creative creations. I just don’t know how they do it. That is why I am reading about Steve Jobs

  83. I am reading about Michael Jordan and his amazing basketball carer.He is one of my favorite basketball players of all time and I think he is the best players . It is a vary good book and I enjoy reading it .

  84. I would like to read about one of my favorite broadway performers or one of my favorite singers. I am really inspired by broadway performers and singers and I would like to learn more about the life of my favorite singers.

  85. I have chosen to read about Gabi Douglas because what she has done is really amazing and has drawn my attention. I can’t wait to read about her!

  86. I choose to read about Firoozeh Dumas, an Iranian girl who moved to California when she was seven. It’s really interesting to read about the big changes she had to adapt to.

  87. I have chosen to read about Helen Keller. I am going to read about her because she has been through so many things in her life, and I want to see how she got through the tough things in her life. Also how she dealt with it and accomplished things.

  88. I want to read about Kevin Mitnick. He was the most wanted hacker in the entire US. Surprisingly, He only hacked for fun. He never stole money, or anything like that. I want to read about him because I love computers. I haven’t seen many books that about computers that aren’t about computer language.

  89. I have chosen to read about Diana,Princess of Wales because I just think it might be interesting to see and read what it would be like to be in the life of a princess especially the life of Diana, Princess of Wales

  90. I am reading an autobiography about our 40th president, Ronald Reagan. He titles this book, “An American Life” and I can’t blame him for titling it that. This is a real American man who has a good heart; He was also an actor surprisingly, my parents say he was the greatest president we’ve ever had, and I look forward to learning more about him.

  91. I want to learn more about Eric Grietens. He is a charity worker who went to Duke who joined the marines and served our country. I wnat to read mmore about him because he has a really cool, interesting, and inspiring story about becoming a marine.

  92. I would like to read about Jane Goodall. She is such an inspiration to me because she has this little ball of flaming passion for animals inside her heart. This is the woman who started huge organizations for chimpanzees and apes.

  93. I will be reading about Mohhamed Ali. I love his quotes and the way he speaks is very inspiring to me and they always make me think. I love to think about what he has to say.

  94. I chose to read about Lee Jun Fan. He was a kung Fu master. He leaned kung Fu in 1949. He was in a lot of movies, like green hornet and the ways of the dragon. I wanted to read about him because my friend know a lot about him and so checked a book out about him.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *